Skip to content

Aurora, eclipse, equinox

A storm of solar dust;  the glorious Northern Lights; an almost total eclipse of the P1060352sun; and then the equinox and some of the highest tides in a century. It has been a  heady week of spacey stuff.

I wasn’t prepared for the disruption it would  bring. Any yet I should have known there would be repercussions, after the way Hale-Bopp streaked across the sky and wreaked wonder and havoc in my life back in the Nineties.  I remember first catching sight of the Great Comet ploughing through the stars above my hill and knowing at once that it signalled something momentous.

This time the disruption began just as the eclipse cast its shadow then returned the world to daylight. Impulsively I decided to view a property that’s for sale in the village,  just as a distraction from work – or so I thought.

And while it may be back to business as usual in the Heavens, my world is still in disarray. Will I? Won’t I? Should I make my (tiny) home by the edge of the sea in a holiday village that’s a ghost town in winter and a heaving mass of tourism in summer? I need a handhold on stability after three nomadic years so the promise of sea views and a fire for the winter has a strong appeal.

I took a long walk along the coast as the high tide flooded the path and white froth crashed over fences and gates, blurring the line between grass and the green deep. The world sparkled around me and the path meandered through the streets, right past the door of the cottage. Eclipse Karma.

P1060274
P1060326

P1060294

13 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amazing photos.

    March 26, 2015
  2. Nice thoughts Nancy, what area is the village in (if I may ask?)

    March 23, 2015
    • It’s on the east coast, in the Kingdom of Fife, a part of the country I barely knew until a couple of years ago. But it has now begun to feel like home.

      March 23, 2015
  3. Oh, this just gave me chills, Nancy! The Heavens may have aligned to show you the way home.

    The photos are stunning. What a moment.

    March 23, 2015
    • That’s a very romantic way of describing it, thank you. We’ll see. Some negotiations still ahead.

      March 23, 2015
  4. It would have been a different post if the sea would have been calm on your walk. Beautifully written. The sea draws us close and holds us transfixed. One day I will see the Northern Lights!

    March 23, 2015
    • Yes, you’re right, it was exhilarating. And there’s a serious danger that I’d “waste” a lot of time looking out of my windows to the sea…

      March 23, 2015
  5. kristina wilkening #

    Hi! I have been reading your blogs since Maggie’s from the Camino de Santiago. I really like your blogs. So, what did you decide? Will you buy the cottage by the sea? Post a photo of it. Maybe we can help you decide. I love that part of the world. We can all visit you summer or better yet…winter when you would probably relish having company. I did the Camino last October. And would relish some walks…up there in magic land!

    March 22, 2015
    • I’m working on it – and will keep you posted! Thanks for your comments. Where are you from Kristina? Do you have a blog where I could read about your camino adventures ? I’m still addicted.

      March 23, 2015
      • kristina wilkening #

        Sorry, I didn’t write a blog on my Camino trip. But I did take lots of photos. I posted a lot on FB. I admire anyone that did write a blog. I have written blogs before…but on the Camino I guess I was too lazy and only had my small phone to write on. I am from Port Townsend in Washington State. It is on the Olympic Peninsula!

        March 24, 2015
  6. You’re living it! Beautiful photos. Thanks for sharing.

    March 22, 2015
  7. Beautiful sea photos.

    March 22, 2015

Leave a Reply

