Skip to content

When the yellow’s on the broom

P1060463There’s a popular Scottish song that tells of the travelling people who leave their stationary winter quarters to set off on the road  “when the yellow’s on the broom” at this time of year.

“We’ll meet up wi’ oor kinfolk

From a’ the country roon’

When the ganaboot folk tak’ the road

And the yellow’s on the broom”

I didn’t walk past any broom today, but for mile after dazzling mile the yellow was thick and heavily scented on the gorse; weak lemony pale on the daffodils; and the dandelions shone brightly, luring in the bees and butterflies from miles around. It was one long Mellow Yellow Scottish spring day.

I should have been working, of course. Or packing for The Big Move later in the week. Or cleaning. Or researching. But the sun was forcing its brightness around the black-out blinds when I opened my eyes this morning, and I couldn’t resist. I’ve been following Trepidatious Traveller Maggie’s adventures (http://magwood.me )  on her latest Spanish Camino these last few days and have been itching to get on the road myself, so on a whim I abandoned the world of work and set off on the first 12 miles of the long-distance West Highland Way.

And it all came rushing back: the satisfying crunch of boots on gravel; a pack strapped to my back; the adventure of the open road; sun shadows, random encounters and conversations with strangers.  I hummed the Yellow on the Broom tune as I walked towards the hills and reflected on my own nomadic experiences these past three years.

The rootless chapter of my recent life will close this week when I get the keys for my little fisherman’s house by the sea. The wandering years opened my eyes but I need a home again. Even when the countryside is yellow. P1060442

P1060433 P1060417 P1060399P1060395

21 Comments Post a comment
  1. When’s the house warming Nancy? As usual another beautiful piece of writing.

    April 24, 2015
  2. Gorgeous yellow…terribly invasive

    April 23, 2015
    • Yes. But I’m tolerant of all its detractions at this time of year.

      April 25, 2015
  3. I love so much of the spring blooming is yellow. It just brings out the smiles to join the warming yellow glow in the sky. I got to see the desert floor bloom this year for the first time and the floor of yellow was overwhelming with beauty. So glad you got out to enjoy your beautiful spring day:) Best wishes for a smooth move. Can’t wait to see your cottage by the sea:)

    April 22, 2015
    • Thanks guys. Packing is done and I’m now in limbo. Exciting times!

      April 22, 2015
  4. Beautiful photos…. spring is in the air 🙂

    April 22, 2015
    • Thanks Ingrid. It has taken me a while to get going this year but the sunshine is a great spur to adventure planning.

      April 22, 2015
  5. The roots of the tree in your photo hopefully reflect the roots you will enjoy in your new home by the sea. I wish you many happy days there. Congratulations! I love the color yellow, so bright and joyful.

    April 22, 2015
    • There was no escaping yellow yesterday, and I did find myself smiling at the “in your face-ness” of it around every bend in the road! Thanks for the good wishes. I’ll post a pic of the views from my new home later in the week. And I’m hoping they’ll be blue this time. Sky and sea.

      April 22, 2015
  6. Wonderful! I’ve been following Maggie’s adventures as well, and am having the same reaction… wanting to be out, walking!

    April 21, 2015
    • Not long to go till your next adventure Nadine! I’ve toyed with doing the Camino Norte this summer but have settled on another adventure instead. Buen Camino for June.

      April 22, 2015
  7. Beautiful images of your spontaneous walk. So sorry your idyl must come to a close. I’m sure this is difficult for you. But smart cookie to seize the moment this morning!

    April 21, 2015
    • On the contrary! I waved goodbye to the van very happily because all of a sudden the time had come to find home again. My tent will satisfy my wanderlust in future! Looking forward to buying your book when it’s published. How long to wait?

      April 22, 2015
      • MY book? Oh dear. I’ve helped birth some other people’s books, but my own? I have rewritten it at least 3 times and at the moment, it languishes. But thanks for the vote of confidence. Have a good move.

        April 22, 2015
  8. Now’s the time! Love the silhouette photo.

    April 21, 2015
    • Thanks Anneli. Good to read that you’re busy writing. I had wondered why you were so quiet! Hope the sun’s shining in BC too.

      April 22, 2015
      • It is, at last!!!!! Took long enough. Yes, I am trying to get my Wind Weeps sequel done. Rewriting the second draft now. So hard to find the time, and I love the blogging too, but haven’t gotten out there to get more adventures lately.

        April 22, 2015
  9. Beautiful, as always… The yellow is on the broom here in Spain! Thanks for the mention x

    April 21, 2015
    • My toes were nipping a bit after only 20k but I thought about your recent 38k day and told myself to man up! Your walk looks a little lonely and pioneering, Maggie. Very different from the Camino Frances!

      April 22, 2015
      • Very different – I am glad of George’s company. Only a few days until we join the Via de la Plata now, so big changes in store.

        April 22, 2015

Leave a Reply

