Skip to content

Traversing the Meseta

img_4756-1

We cross fields of green on a red clay track that winds to the horizon’s azure sky. There’s no rain on Spain’s high plains this week, not in daytime at least, but in places the damp mud clings and is carried ahead, heavy on the boots of the trudging pilgrim army.

Four years on from my first trek across the endless flat Meseta, this is an unworldly time of morning mists, lush crops and diversions with new companions to unfamiliar villages.

img_4700

In the empty landscape there’s just the constant heartbeat of boots on gravel; companionship over cervesa; secrets shared in a brief collision of lives that leave a deep imprint of sound and touch.

Walking away always takes longer.

img_4877-1

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. I loved the green fields! I would love to take that walk- it seems refreshing and relaxing!

    June 9, 2017
  2. I’ve only just recently discovered the existence of a lush, green Meseta. I walked through there in mid/late July 2015. It was so dry and hot and yellow that it honestly never even occurred to that it was possible for the region to ever be wet and green. The contrast is so mind-boggling for me that pictures of the green Meseta have become one of my favourite things!

    September 15, 2016
    • I also walked the meseta in hot, arid conditions, in September 2012, and I heard then how different it looked in springtime. It’s a part of the camino I expect to walk again, maybe next spring, as I loved the cool mornings, the crops growing and the endless big skies.
      Good to meet you Rebecca. I’ll look out for your stories of adventure.

      September 15, 2016
  3. Rupe #

    The end of August seems so far away. And I thought I was already inspired!

    May 2, 2016
  4. So beautiful 🙂

    May 2, 2016
    • Thanks Nadine. Hope the book is going well?

      May 2, 2016
      • It’s going… slowly but surely! And to be honest, reading a post like yours helps to give me inspiration!

        May 2, 2016
  5. Doug Buchanan #

    Sounds and looks wonderful Nancy, Pam and I can’t wait to cross the start line in August. We are particularly looking forward to the Meseta as we skipped it last time

    May 2, 2016
    • Exhaustion, sweat, aching hips, fleeting (with some notable exceptions) friends, vino tinto, cafe con leche,occasional bursts of poetry ! and – this time – a couple of drams before falling into bed. I think I might just retire to the camino.

      May 2, 2016
  6. Great experience. Wonderful share. Thank you!

    May 1, 2016
  7. Beautiful words and pictures. I’ve had a fabulous sunny day ‘up north’

    May 1, 2016
    • Glad it’s going well, Maggie. I’ll take a look and catch up.

      May 1, 2016
  8. Buen Camino, brings back great memories!

    May 1, 2016
    • It was so much quieter than when we walked, guys. I met some great folk but there were many absent friends.

      May 1, 2016
  9. I bet that was a refreshing walk – the one with the wet weather. Love that sky in the last one.

    May 1, 2016

Leave a Reply

