Skip to content

Unleashing change

DSC_0843 copy

My new world of work requires me to wear shoes. Shoes! And makeup. I need to wash my face and put on clothes before I start typing every day. Hair? That’s still a bit deranged but there’s only so much preening I can handle.

There are no more early morning strolls along the coast, boiling the kettle for that third cup of coffee, putting on the washing machine, checking emails, Facebook, Twitter, a couple of news websites and WordPress before typing my first sentence. Then stopping mid way to have another quick peek at Twitter. My walking boots, fleeces and down jackets are currently… resting.

My absence here doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing. Quite the reverse. For the last three weeks I’ve been processing thousands of words every day. I’ve typed. Read. Commissioned. Edited. Rejected. Rewritten. Typed more. And published. Then started over again the next day. If I’d devoted the same energy to “the novel” it would have been written in a month.

And now, at the beginning of week four, I’m hunkered down, getting to grips with systems, a vast floor of new colleagues, technology that hates me and an increasingly close relationship with every member of the IT department. I haven’t got round to telling my new workmates that the last time I worked in a newspaper office I used a manual typewriter and phoned in copy. But I suspect they’ve already guessed.

This conventional working life hasn’t left much time for Highland Hind adventures and I sorely miss the wind and weather on my face. I escaped last weekend though, and headed north to the hills to interview the crazy, passionate owners of 1000 barking, howling, straining-at-the-leash Siberian Huskies and Alaskan Malamuts  racing in  teams through pine woods. You can’t really lose if you’re wielding a microphone in front of a sound fest like that. Radio magic.

 

 

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Once again you are bravely venturing into the unknown. I applaud you and your ability to get to work, whatever that work is. A pat on the back and a big hug, my friend, from across the pond.

    February 8, 2016
    • Thank you. Much appreciated. It’s hard to find time to catch up with friends, real and virtual

      February 13, 2016
  2. I hope those 1000 barking hounds where compensation for what you’ve sacrificed. Your new lifestyle sounds both fun and terrifying.

    February 2, 2016
  3. Commiserations Nancy however as an IT person, they should be glad of the opportunity to assist you.

    February 1, 2016
    • IT have been great, Scott. I get the impression things are looking up for you? Great to see you out and about x

      February 13, 2016
      • Thanks Nancy. That’s right – getting there – wherever there may be? No crystal balls on-line here! Next stop is maybe Spain after June with a side trip to Scotland as I had to disappoint Richard at Christmas time and want to catch up with him. If that happens I’ll let you know. Don’t know about my job after June 30th and settlement should be have happened by then. Coincidentally, Isabel friended on facebook today. Also heard a little from Grace. Who knows about these things and the timing thereof.

        February 14, 2016
  4. Shoes and make-up. You poor thing. At least the weekend was rewarding.

    January 31, 2016
  5. I hope you were using the zoom on the camera when you took that picture of the dogs, or you’d soon be run over. I’m sorry for you that you can’t get out as much, Nancy. But when you do, you’ll appreciate it all the more.

    January 31, 2016
    • I’m losing track of what you’re up to these days, Anneli. Once things settle down I’ll be back here a little more, I hope.

      February 13, 2016
      • That would be great, Nancy. Love to see your comments and I’m missing your adventure-filled blog posts.

        February 13, 2016

Leave a Reply

