Skip to content

Recce-ing the Fife Chain “Walk”

IMG_2683

Chain links zig-zagged up, across and over the top of the  rough cliff face,  pristine steel glinting and signing the way.  I tugged hard: the bolts didn’t budge. So no excuse.

“Suitable for children aged 9 and over,” the internet had reassured. But the sign low down on the path was less gung-ho: “Beware of being trapped by the incoming tide; of being struck by falling rocks and stones; and of falling from steep rock on hazardous coastal terrain.”

And this was just the short recce ahead of the full-scale birthday adventure planned for later in the month. So many thrills still in store. Eeeek.

IMG_2674

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks adventurous! Great photos, but weren’t you afraid to let go of the chain to take them?

    February 15, 2015
  2. Holy crap! Glad you lived to tell about it.

    February 11, 2015
    • There were hidden caves and strange (volcanic I think) rocks up there. Always worth exploring, but getting back to where I started was the challenge!

      February 15, 2015
  3. Not s sure I could have traversed this. WoW, good for you!

    February 10, 2015
    • Time will tell if I manage all eight of the chains. I suspect the first two were the easy ones.

      February 15, 2015
  4. Mrs Gillman Isobel #

    Well done Nancy! I hope they are going to check for rust on a regular basis 😉

    February 9, 2015
  5. That looks so scary. I think I will stick to the camino tracks. Well done for having the nerve!

    February 9, 2015
    • Outwith my comfort zone Maggie! And I’m beginning to feel the pull of the Camino again too. Bring on Spring.

      February 15, 2015
  6. Oh, my!! You are one brave woman! I don’t mind chain for a short section but that it a lot of chain!! Glad you had some cool photos!

    February 9, 2015
    • It was my first experience of chain. Where else have you encountered it?

      February 15, 2015
  7. You’re braver than I am. I’d trust the signs at the site more than the ads on the internet.

    February 8, 2015

Leave a Reply

