Skip to content

Reminiscing about the Ridge on a dreich Scottish day

IMG_1789

I never tire of looking up to sharp mountain ridges but I’m nervous of exposure so New Zealand’s Kepler Track is well outwith my comfort zone. But with a bit of brutal encouragement from my son, I did it. The memories – which we shared last night via Skype – will last a lifetime. And they brighten the bleakest of Scotland’s November days.

P1010616IMG_1833IMG_1798P1010674P1010738IMG_1873

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Those photos are fantastic!

    December 3, 2014
    • Thanks Carmen. Oh, what I would do to be back on those magnificent tops right now. Missing my boy, the scenery and the weather (if not the vertigo). I’ll be in touch soon.

      December 4, 2014
  2. How fun to have shared this experience with your son. What a gorgeous place!

    November 17, 2014
    • Yes, happy times Sheila. Having his company was fab and looking at the pix makes me want to return and head off with him on another of NZ’s great trails. Maybe next year, if I save hard all winter…

      November 17, 2014
  3. The trail looks awesome. I really like “razorback” trails where you can see valleys on both sides of the mountain.

    November 14, 2014
    • Yes, so long as they’re not too precipitous Sheryl!

      November 17, 2014
  4. What amazing pictures to accompany those wonderful memories.

    November 12, 2014
    • Thanks. They don’t do justice to the landscape but I can pore over them for hours (rather than get on with work!) It’s the time of year to be plotting adventures – hope you’re doing likewise.

      November 12, 2014
  5. Looks like my kind of trail, but not weather:)

    November 12, 2014
    • I don’t think they get your kind of weather too often in Fiordland!

      November 12, 2014
  6. Looks chilly!

    November 11, 2014
    • Yes, it rained. And blew a gale. There was even sleet at some of the most exposed points. But it was gloriously exhilarating (in retrospect!) It’s as well the pix are taken from behind – you can’t see my gritted teeth.

      November 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

