Skip to content

A house of shells : the Camino strikes again

P1050227I was having a bit of a wobble; a bleak, dark November crisis of confidence and positivity. So I went for a walk around the seaside town I’ve made my home for the winter  (probably: the jury’s still out). And that’s when I stumbled across the Scallop Shell House.

It sits on an unprepossessing corner of a busy road, but it’s a work of art. And it brought an immediate rush of powerful Camino memories from the happy weeks I spent walking across Spain, following the scallop signs. At that time I had no doubts; it was enough to just follow the shells on the roads, the pavements and on the backs of my fellow pilgrims.

Earlier this year I discovered a rough track in the north of Scotland that was spread with thousands of scallop shells and took some comfort then that I was, just maybe, following the right road. I’ll do the same again tonight, and place my trust in the crazy little house of shells just along the street.

P1050224

P1050230

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. “A bit of a wobble”…what a perfect description. Finding that amazing house was no accident, that’s for sure!

    November 4, 2014
  2. Knocking on the door seems a very interesting proposition with possibilities of a great follow-up post – who lives in a house like this…….
    I also see lots of signs, most recently in Marbella in a tiny chapel where my partner went in to light a candle. I mooched around in the background and found an exquisite mini-sculpture of Santiago, complete with staff and gourd, standing in a scallop shell.
    Your signs are a bit more ‘in your face’ than my more subtle ones – but they all speak to us very powerfully.

    November 4, 2014
    • I toyed with the idea of knocking on the door but it seemed very run down and I doubt if anyone lives there at the moment. But I’ll go and have another look. And keep you posted!

      November 4, 2014
  3. I would say this is a very positive sign from what you have written. Not only is this message to you but a really lovely house design. I just love seashells. Think of all the shells I could collect if this was my goal!

    November 4, 2014
    • Collect them anyway. It’s kinda compulsive isn’t it. And You Never Know.

      November 4, 2014
  4. A house that is a work of art. How cool. Is the scallop your totem?

    November 3, 2014
    • It’s beginning to look that way. Either I am following the scallop shells or they’re following me … which would definitely be spookier!

      November 4, 2014
  5. What an amazing house!!! I remember when you posted about the track covered in scallop shells… and now you’ve found another powerful reminder of the Camino! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    November 3, 2014
    • It’s strange how they seem to turn up just when I need them most – but least expect them Nadine. I’m enjoying your post-Camino posts too.

      November 3, 2014
  6. Yep, that certainly does that to us too. We were walking around the streets near home the other day and saw some road markings (yellow arrows) – and that brought memories flooding back 🙂

    Wonderful house decorated in shells – what a find simply by following what felt most natural 🙂

    November 3, 2014
    • It took me aback for sure. I’ve never seen anywhere like it in Scotland.

      November 3, 2014
  7. Signs are significant. Consider heeding, as you successfully have. Great photos!

    November 3, 2014
    • It really did feel like a sign Eric. Maybe I should go and knock on the door!

      November 3, 2014
  8. What a great idea they had!

    November 3, 2014
  9. Beautiful!

    November 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

