Skip to content

Beautiful barefoot summer

I’ve spent most of the last three months barefoot. And the simplicity of not wearing shoes feels like the ultimate freedom. Invariably I park up near beaches and work then spend my downtime in the water, wading through the waves, paddling and swimming.

My doubts about my lifestyle only surface on days like today when I waken in a city to the sounds of a helicopter and traffic rather than the murmur of waves or wind. That’s when nothing feels right and I start to question the decisions I’ve made and directions I’ve taken.

A run through the sea on St Andrews’ fine sands this evening restored my equilibrium and reassured me that the conversion to nomad is almost complete. Time will tell if my iphone’s unscheduled salty dip has an equally happy outcome.

 

IMG_2177

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Borderline, if not sheer, bliss!

    August 3, 2014
  2. I wish I could let my tender tootsie go naked. It looks and sounds so freeing. But I fear I’ve always been a real tenderfoot. Bummer about the phone. I hope it recovers.

    August 2, 2014
    • A tenderfoot; what a great word. It sounds like a new tribe of sensitive people. And the phone? Turns out it’s as resilient as my feet! (So far)

      August 3, 2014
  3. Happy feet! 😀

    July 28, 2014
  4. It’s almost like the change from summer holidays to “back to school.”

    July 27, 2014
    • Yes, Anneli. This is a spectacularly hot, sunny summer and I’m making the most of it before our good fortune ends. I noticed tonight how darkness is coming earlier in the evening.

      July 27, 2014
      • That’s right! I’ve noticed it especially this summer because of the new puppy and having to take her out as late as possible in the evening and again as early as possible in the morning.

        July 27, 2014
  5. I love this so.much. Your bare feet are beautiful, as are your words.

    July 27, 2014

Leave a Reply

