Skip to content

A taste of the Kyle of Tongue

P1040316

 

Like escapees from an unruly chess board, the march of death climbs up and over the hill. They’re grandiose tombstones in an elemental place ; oversized queens, bishops and knights heading for the shallow, sandy waters of Tongue Bay.  Next stop the Atlantic Ocean.

Our day was long and unhurried. We’d no heavy packs on our backs and no transport south until tomorrow. Misty views to the hills beyond the Kyle meant walking across the long causeway was slow, and I pitied the cars and vans their flashes of scenery while we paused every few steps to breathe in ever changing Ben Loyal. Ahead of us all the time was the stark cemetery on the hill.

No insects pestered us today but still I itched. New red blotches had burst into life. And just above my knee this morning I discovered a tick already swelling, its jaws firmly clamped in my flesh. I wielded  my new tick-tweezers and twisted then squashed the parasite, watching my blood seep out and wondering if this one carried Lyme’s Disease.

P1040328

The graveyard was a haven of heather and mosses, wild flowers and a strong rusty lichen that was stark against the cool grey stone; Caloplaca marina, I think. Calos in Greek means nice, placa  is shield, so Caloplaca ‘beautiful patches’. And so they are.

Slowly the tide emptied, leaving vast sandy flats, exposing acres of seaweed and racks of farmed mussel beds. Tractors and trailers crept over the soft sand, seagulls called on them for scraps  and the clear northern light bounced against the beach.

I had just a few hours of wandering, watching and listening while, up on the hill, the tombstones maintained a much longer vigil. A hundred years, and counting…

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beautiful writing, thank you. That tick sounded disgusting though – I have only had to deal with them on my animals, and that is bad enough!

    July 21, 2014
    • They seem to be attracted to me!

      And my old removal remedy has been discredited. We used to soak a cloth in whisky and cover the tick then wait till it fell out …drunk! Well that was the theory and it did work. I’m more nervous of leaving the head embedded when I use tweezers, but so far so good.

      July 21, 2014
  2. You definitely see, hear, smell, feel more when you’re walking than if you just drove by. Hope those insects will leave you alone now.

    July 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

