Skip to content

Immersed in the West

It’s misty and moody and I just can’t stay away.

Scotland’s west coast has been calling me this summer and I’m no sooner away than I’m back. I’ve walked through showers and downpours then wakened in the tent to pools of water in the “porch” and a wee cowerin’ beastie (not a rat or mouse or vole – so what was it?) nestling under my rucksack. That was a surprise; for both of us.

I follow hill tracks and paths with a head full of Bonny Prince Charlie, clan battles and  Highlanders, between mountains and alongside rivers in spate; near Glencoe,  Black Mount and onwards to Kingshouse below the Buachaille Etive Mor.

And I’m going back again today. Stob Binnean and Ben More are the big hills that beckon my old walking pal and I. There’s rain forecast, of course, but we’re undaunted.

P1030722

P1030713

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Beasties!! 🙂

    May 23, 2014
  2. What beastie? I’m curious now.

    May 23, 2014
    • A sort of flattish hamster, not very fast. And it didn’t look dangerous.

      May 28, 2014
  3. Glorious photos Nancy

    May 23, 2014
    • Thanks Scott. I’ve grown to love the bands and streaks of swirling mist and don’t think I ever really appreciated it in the past.

      May 28, 2014

Leave a Reply

