Skip to content

Walk the WHW (if you dare)

The West Highland Way is Scotland’s best known long distance path, but nobody seems to have informed the cattle that it’s a right-of-way. Or maybe they were just a bit weary of the endless hikers on a May holiday weekend and decided to stage a protest.

I’m not frightened of cattle  (although these girls had a definite glint in their eyes) but I spotted a few folk who preferred to take a huge detour rather than run the gauntlet. Pamplona’s Bull Run would be the Camino’s equivalent, I suppose  – although I don’t remember any pilgrims signing up for that either!

 

 

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Drew #

    I hope I can walk this someday!

    May 26, 2014
  2. I accidentally did a section of the WHW a few years ago (after the bus driver forgot to drop us off in Loch Lomond) and immediately resolved to go back and do the whole thing someday. I do remember some epically Scottish-looking cows along in there…

    May 16, 2014
  3. Thanks for the chuckle. They’re cows for Pete’s sake. I wouldn’t have thought twice but would have begun singing loudly, clapping my hands, and expect they would want to avoid me. But after reading these comments, hmmm. Maybe as long as I avoided eye contact….

    May 6, 2014
    • Sounds like you have some experience of grizzlies Margaret?

      May 7, 2014
  4. Cool looking trail. Dem bossies look pretty mellow to me. ;-}

    May 6, 2014
    • This bit was lovely but some of it ran close to a busy road so was spoiled a bit by the noise of traffic. Great to be out though.

      May 7, 2014
  5. Doug #

    You would be surprised by the number of walkers injured by cattle in the UK over the last 5 years. Glad to see you have finally got around to walking the WHW Nancy, hope to see you soon. Doug and Pam

    May 5, 2014
    • I grew up on a farm as you know, Doug, so have a healthy respect for cattle – especially cows with young calves. And I was quite surprised to see these animals on such a busy path. I thought of you while I was walking actually and remembered you had some rough weather last time you walked the WHW in October. And yes, look forward to catching up with you both later in the year.

      May 5, 2014
      • Doug Buchanan #

        I well remember walking the section in your photo along the river bank in pouring rain. I was wearing the blue raincoat Pam bought in Ponferrada which quickly fell apart in the strong wind.

        May 6, 2014
  6. One would hope they would simply moov over wouldn’t one?

    May 5, 2014
    • I certainly can’t imagine you cow-ering away from them, Scott!

      May 5, 2014
  7. I’d think twice about pushing them out of the way too.

    May 5, 2014
    • If they had horns and were pawing the ground… that would be different!

      May 5, 2014
      • Ha ha. No it wouldn’t. Not for me. I find cows very scary and all they have to do is stand there. Maybe it’s the way they stare and drool. Makes me wonder what they’re thinking.

        May 5, 2014
  8. I don’t think I’d be challenging them for the path!

    May 5, 2014
    • It was clearly a bovine power game! They didn’t even twitch when I walked past yet they had a whole hillside to graze. Maybe they’re smarter than they look!

      May 5, 2014

Leave a Reply

